That Lovely Last Week in Santa Cruz…

Hey Folks! It’s been a couple weeks too long since I’ve updated you on the family goings-on with us. This has largely been due to the fact that I’ve been up to my eyeballs in the preparation and execution of the biggest visual and performance art show of my life. There’s a link to more information about that at the end of this post.

Now for the pics! Below, you’ll find a slew of images from, our eldest daughter, Izabella’s weeklong visit with us in Santa Cruz, and my last week there before returning to Missoula to do my show.

Bella and I hit the Boardwalk the first day she was with us for a surgical mission to all her favorite rides.IMG_1869 The Undertow, which is pretty new on the boardwalk, may be the funnest roller coaster I’ve ever been on… I just wish it was twice as long! We rode that right away and multiple times during our several hours there.IMG_4654 Bella’s favorite ride remains the Giant Dipper. I went on it with her once, and then she went again — and got a double ride that time as the workers just let the cars go on through without stopping. I shot this picture of the screen that captures everyone’s reactions going passed a particular spot on the ride.IMG_4746 This year, Bella took on the challenge (solo!) of doing the run-away-elevator-styled, “Double Shot”, which not only drops you like a freefall, but starts by shooting you up to over a hundred feet in the air like a rocket first! You can see the concentration…IMG_1861 Speaking of concentration… Bella got handed a copy of Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris and devoured the thing in about 24 hours. The math homework she brought took all week… No doubt whose kid she is!LW1Echo had a Girl Scout performance that required the use of this Sari as a costume, which provided a lovely opportunity for her to enjoy trying it out several times in the week leading up. I love how well she matches the print in the background…LW2Another fun trip that last week was back to the San Francisco Zoo! Rrrraaawrr!IMG_4712 We nosed around with the anteater…IMG_4715 Bear-hugged on the bear…IMG_4729Who then gave Bella a ride…IMG_1883

To another hugfest!IMG_4997 Echo and Bella played (and snuggled) at the zoo playground…IMG_4748Here, she was needing a break, so Bella was just lion around…IMG_4749We were inspired by The Thinker…
IMG_1875 Impressed by the peacock…IMG_1880Saw this Alice in Wonderland butterfly with shades on her head…
IMG_1882Practiced our tourist looks…IMG_4974 It seems like we color-match our children, but I promise, they just accidentally fit in a fashion spread together.IMG_4983 See what I mean?IMG_4990 This bird almost brushed my brow with his wing. Then stood less than a foot from me while I snapped several shots of his impressive derrière…LW4Almost as impressive and certainly just as willing to let me get close-up were these lovely Pincushion flowers — one of my new favorites in Santa Cruz.LW3We went to the Cove and got to beach it up in a major way! Including Henry!IMG_1904The girls challenged the waves…
IMG_1909And played in the sand to their hearts’ content.IMG_1914And, we have the photo proof now, it’s official, Bella is taller than Grammy! No offense Grammy…
IMG_4663On Bella’s and my last day in Santa Cruz, I gave this girl the first real haircut she’s ever had — not just a trim but 6 inches. This was before; for some reason I can’t find any “after” shots! The real reason I included this shot is because I’m missing this girl something fierce. I came back a few weeks earlier than Natalie and Echo so that I could engage my art show and this will be the longest that Echo and I have ever been apart, making for the absolute most difficult portion of my current endeavor.
IMG_1916For those of you that are interested, here’s a link to the blog for my project: https://dreamcatchingshow.wordpress.com; be sure to check out the About page for a complete description.

I’ll be here a little more in the coming weeks, and back to normal next month! Hope you all are enjoying your Spring!

*

Be well.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

