Friday Family Updates: Flyin’ Solo

This week’s been kind of an odd one for us because I’m the only one home! We’re used to the coming and going of our older two girls as they flow back and forth between their two homes, but it’s fairly unusual for our micro-unit family to be split up for more than a few hours on any given day, and certainly strange to spend a whole week apart. But it does happen every now and again, and it’s always sort of weird.

For one thing, I feel as though a portion of body is turned off, or missing, or so numb to the touch that it may as well be gone. I don’t have my normal outlets (or inlets) for loving, so I feel like there’s a big part of the normally used part of me that is dormant, or distant, or (not to put too fine a point on it) utterly unsatisfied. Nevertheless, I’m making due, and have a few fun adventures of my own in the process.

Natalie and Echo are in Boulder, Colorado visiting some long-time friends. Echo is particularly happy to have some time with the little guy in the background below. That’s Noah and his mom Shanti. 11.7.14a Me, although I’ve felt like a sail with no ship for the last several days, I’m making good use of the time doing things that I probably would have stayed home instead of, had the family been here. So, I got to go to a drum and journey gathering, I stayed out super late a couple of nights, went to karaoke, did the entire First Friday Art Walk, hung out with a number of my “we should really get together soon” friends, shook my booty to a popular local bar band, and went for a couple “before it’s frozen out” hikes, in addition to my more mundane daily tasks.

Below is a shot I took from a place I found and named “The Laughing Ravine” that carries the sounds of laughs and screams and shouts of joy from a playground (or two) down below all the way up the 1,000 foot hill and over. The ravine which is also a watershed for spring run-off, acted like a tributary, feeding the “Mirth Woods”, the mountain top, and the sky, above. I marveled at the power of such energy gliding up the side of the hill at least once or twice each day, 5 days a week, most weeks of the year…11.7.14bThis view is from the top of Mount Sentinel over-looking the heart of the Five Valleys where Missoula nestles, getting ready for a long Winter’s nap. If you look closely, you can see a sliver of each of the two rivers at opposite ends of town.11.7.14cXi is due back tonight, Natalie and Echo the day after. And while I wait for the “pins and needles! pins and needles!” to subside, and the feeling to come back into the sleeping parts of me, I’ll be cleaning, and wrapping up some last minute garden tasks before the snow and serious cold hit, possibly Monday. Please send Natalie and Echo safe driving mojo as they wend their way back, 13 hours, from Colorado!

And that’s the haps in our world at present. Hope you’re all enjoying your current opportunities, too!

*

Be well.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Friday Family Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

