Being is not a Behavior (Re-blog)

* * * * Re-blogging this one about how we seek to handle situations if our girls do something we don’t want them to do. Theory first, action steps near the end… * * * *

"A Beautiful Place of the World"

Previously, I posted about time-outs and the disservice I think they do to parent-child relations, and to children’s sense of security, as well as, the miserable failure of time-outs to effectively teach children anything about how we would prefer that they act, react, or consider others (when they act). I thought that this might cause a more noteworthy uproar than it actually did, but perhaps the relative reticence I met was more indicative of its effect than any particular argument would have been. The general silence notwithstanding, there were two comments I wanted to take some time to address today.

The first one comes from Michelle Purvey, Psy.D.. She writes:

Although I have recommended time-outs and used time-outs with my own children, I agree with your stance on time-outs. My time-outs (even for myself) are for break/rest/calm-down time, for a few minutes, on a chair/couch in the same room…

View original post 2,840 more words

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Parenting Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

