On the Heels of Tomorrow

Here she is, folks, one year ago when she turned 5.

Echo saw this photo this morning and said, “What’s wrong with my face?”. It’s funny how little sense of our selves (in our ever-changing flux) we actually have, isn’t it? There’s so many pictures of me from when I was younger and although I definitely recognize the boy, I wonder at having ever looked like that… though I don’t recall being conscious of this phenomenon when I was 5 going on 6 and looking at my own face from a year previous.

And here she is now, in the last days of being a 5 year-old. Tomorrow, she’ll never be 5 again. Tomorrow our baby is 6 — the little one, the youngest, the family’s infant — a BIG kid. Who the heck authorized this!!!?

What a year it’s been for this kid, too. She planted her own garden, learned to ride a bike, learned to swim fully and freely on her own, started scootering with the older girls, lost her first teeth, learned to really read, had some playdates on her own (without us even there!), and joined a soccer team (with strangers!), among many other premier and daily accomplishments. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Still wish I had a pause button every now and then though…

*

Be well.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Heels of Tomorrow

  1. Hakea says:

    A pause button would be nice, but Six is such a lovely age.

    I’m sure you had a lovely celebration. Looking forward to pics of the magnificent cake.

Thoughts?

