Time-Outs Aren’t Worth Your Time *

* * * * Week-long blog-fest is grinding to a well-earned halt. Our empathy parenting ecourse Parenting on the Same Team will be kicking off this very day! We’ve still got one or two spots if you want to join in on the fun. In the meantime, I hope you’ll enjoy this post about time-outs and other punitive methods of behavior modification * * * *

"A Beautiful Place of the World"

I’ve noticed in several different places on the internet in the last couple of weeks various writers, parenting experts, and parents, discussing the proper use of time-outs. And I just have to say, the only necessary or effective use of a time-out is when your kid requests one for herself. Otherwise in every case, it involves an adversarial and even combative approach on the part of the parents; employs an emotionally violent coercive methodology that disrupts the continuity of the parent-child bond; and flat out doesn’t communicate anything to the child about “proper behavior”, or teach empathetic awareness, or any other “lesson” but: “My parent has abandoned me. I have been judged unworthy to be in the family,” and/or, “My parent doesn’t love me – she sent me away.”

The pundits espouse a lot of hooey about “teaching kids discipline”, and making sure the little angels learn that there…

View original post 994 more words

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Parenting Ideas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

