Fostering the “Why?” (Re-blog)

* * * * Re-blogging this one as part of a response to a discussion with which I was involved on a parenting forum recently. Also happens to fit in nicely with the last post (below)… Enjoy! * * * *

"A Beautiful Place of the World"

“Previously, on A Beautiful Place of the World,”… I spent some time discussing the heretical idea of reconsidering our parental requests before and after we make them, and the idea of negotiating with our kids to meet needs (rather than exclusively enforcing parental whim, or focussing on controlling behaviors), and I’ve repeatedly driven away at the idea of giving our children as much information as we can (about what’s happening, how things work, and what to expect). But, although it has come up briefly in comment-conversations elsewhere in this blog, I have yet to write a post about encouraging our kids to ask “Why?”.  That is until. . .  now.

The first question you might be asking (and perhaps ironically) is “Why should we encourage our kids to ask ‘Why’?”. And on any given day, when I’m feeling less “on my game”, I too might be inclined…

View original post 1,008 more words

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Parenting Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

