The Dance and How We Do It*

Hi friends. I am reblogging this post from 2010 because I think it’s a great description of our usual process in dealing with any uncomfortable or upsetting situation(s) and/or interaction(s) with our daughters. It outlines how we do what we do, and gives some tangible examples as well. I thought it would be useful for those of you who are new(er) to the blog and/or who may have missed it the first time I posted it. Enjoy!

"A Beautiful Place of the World"

Today I want to offer you the opportunity to be a shameless voyeur — of our parenting methodology. I’ve written a fair amount already about what I have read and understand, what I suggest, our general approach, and what we avoid in our parenting, but I haven’t yet given you a solid example of our process in parenting our girls (and ourselves) through any particular situation. That is what I’d like to do now.

To begin with, regardless of the situation, there are two places we check as we wade in to help any one or any number of the girls. First, we look at the feelings. Doing so tells us the general tenor of the interaction itself. We are looking for anger, frustration, fear, sadness, etc. — anything that will tell us the current state of the emotional terrain of the situation. We may at this point dive right…

View original post 1,579 more words

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Parenting Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

