A Typical Day

Lately, many of our days have looked something like this…

Echo is crouched down by the dining room table. She rests on a couch cushion we moved for the purpose, and is surrounded by toy figures of various animals and characters. She plays with them as she listens to story after story after story (and then repeats) on the little cd player the girls share. In this photo she’s listening to Charlotte’s Web (read by E.B. himself), but she’s also been into Matilda, Bunnicula, The Wizard of Oz, and Pippy Longstockings (which I now know by heart…).

Of course she isn’t the only one listening to these stories. She doesn’t really like the headphones (which are, among other things, just a little too big for her), so we’ve all gotten a fair taste, or more, of many of the stories. It’s funny, but it’s somewhat like the scene one usually imagines involving their teen child listening to way too much punk music way too loud… only it’s the deep, tempered voice of E.B. White for hours on end…

So while the readers carry on (and on and on…) we all just carry on as well. On this particular day, in the dining room with Echo, Xi has been working on some projects. You can see the book she has opened on the table above Echo. Or here, below, taking a break and contemplating her story-obsessed sibling (while listening to Charlotte’s Web, of course).

And parked at the dining room table with them, or should I say, “And sharing studio space with them,” Natalie works hour after hour on making the latest item of Faery Food. On this day, she’s preparing cauliflower leaves, on day 2 of a major cauliflower production binge…

Xi, noticing that I keep taking pictures (for which she isn’t getting to pose…), asks if I’ll let her “get ready” before I shoot the next one…

so, I oblige her. And this is what I get for it…

We all laugh — somewhat quieter than usual so we don’t interrupt the story…

Then I take one more picture, since Xi is ready, and I go back to making tea for myself, and on to my own little project (recreating “strawberry hill” in our yard). These are my favorite kind of days. Short of having our Bella with us (which is farther between than we would like, nowdays), I’d say this is my perfect kind of day.

So easy. So mutually fulfilling. So sweet. So together. Mmm-mmm goodness.

Here’s to more of the same.

And here’s to your own version of a perfect typical day.

*

Be well

*

Just a friendly reminder — we launch our eCourse this Monday the 10th! Don’t know what that is? Click here to find out!

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

