On the Road Again…

As some of you, no doubt, already know from Natalie’s blog, the McTague family has launched itself on a good ole fashioned, classically Americana-styled, road trip vacation. Monday morning we set out across the wild-green, river-swollen wilderness of Montana and hooked south into northern Wyoming. And this morning, we woke in Sheridan and continued sailing along the eastern front of the Rockies, curving around waves of still more emerald, forest, and sage, against the jagged horizon of indigo, snow, and cerulean. Sylvia, the family van, has carried us all safely and (mostly) joyously some 800 miles from home, to a place Natalie used to call home, on our way to a place I once dreamed of building a home, where Natalie’s grandmother now owns a second home (more on that later)… Tonight, we sleep in the Colorado town named for  a large rock, aptly called Boulder.

I love it when towns (and things in life) take such a simple approach.

We are on our circuitous way to (and eventually back from) Villa Nueva, New Mexico (that’s like double the “newness”), to see some of Natalie’s family currently convening at Grandma Alice’s new place (that’s triple “new”!). And believe me, we are doing the most authentic family road trip ever. We’ve got panoramic vistas of perpetual postcards, sing-alongs in three-part harmony, sack lunches at national historic sites, moment-to-moment page-flipping Rand McNally navigation combined with hairpin intuition, car games and toys of various shapes and forms depending on the desperation of the moment, and of course, the over zealous tour guide parent (“Look kids, it’s the…”), and the nearly fatal sibling “accidents” in the back seat.

We’ve got it all. And more. And I keep finding myself saying, “Thank you” and “I love this”.

And as we rocket along the highway, over hills and miles, passed views too beautiful to understand, and through thoughts too numerous to remember, I’ve found myself thinking also of you. As strange as it may seem, even as we travel, and vacation, and lose ourselves in our own adventures, I keep experiencing my life, in part, from the perspective of how I can share it with you. Even though I am going through a re-orienting of my relationship to the world of blogging and the very idea of blogging, and have gone the last 11 days without posting here  at all (my longest pause since I began), I still find myself looking for what to tell you about — even as it’s happening…

And I thought I was just starting a blog on “best practices” of Natural Parenting.

So, I wanted to say: we‘ve left town, and I‘m back, and like the terrain around us, things are changing. I’ll be filling you in on more of the details in the posts that follow. But for now, just know, I’ve missed you.

*

And as always — Be well.

P.S. Here’s a snap shot I thought you might like… Today, in the back of Sylvia, the girls were playing with a static-sticker map of the U.S. and talking about various aspects of it. We have plans to go to “Four Corners” and they have been negotiating who will stand in which state for the inevitable photo, so some of the discussions they had were centered around the four states involved. At one point I overheard Bella say to Echo, “Now which state are you?” And Echo said, “New Mexthico”. Then Bella asked, “And what’s your capital?” And Echo answered, “Thanta Fe.”

I love this.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Road Again…

  1. kris laroche says:

    glad you are back.xo

Thoughts?

