Let the Fun Begin!

This girl. When she comes in, the contours of the room bulge outward under the weight of her gigantic presence. When they know she’s coming for the weekend, or when it’s coming to the end of any length of time since they last had her all to themselves, then Xi and Echo work themselves into a frenzy of anticipation of Bella’s return. Yesterday, we didn’t even have to drive to get her, so her younger sisters just did laps around the house, and back and forth to the front window, and Xi asked me a hundred times how soon Bella was coming while we all waited for her to arrive. Of course, the magnitude of their excitement over her return this time was mixed with the release they felt after having to go an extra week without her, as well as, the frenetic jubilation they are all feeling toward Echo’s impending birthday this weekend.

She arrived just as we were finishing dinner. Xi and Echo ran to the door and hugged her and then the three of them were immediately catapulted into their own world of celebration and play and birthday party decorating. Bella danced around the yard shouting, “I’m so happy to be home!” And Xi and Echo watched and waited for her to race off in some direction calling after for them to follow. Which she did moments later.

As Bella continued to express her joy in dance, all three girls enacted her idea of collecting all the yellow Dandelions they could possibly find, popping off the heads, and piling them in small birthday arrangements. They laughed and talked and sang and jumped around and acted like they were easter egg hunting. And I caught myself sighing so deeply. It was as if I was breathing fully and completely for the first moment in weeks. And I realized (again for the millionth first time) just how much more at home I feel with all my girls here at the same time. It’s like waking from a disorienting dream to find that everything is back to it’s sweet normality once again. And I smiled so widely that my face felt funny.

Now we’ve got a birthday party to make tomorrow, and I know it’s going to be epic, but I can’t help feeling like the celebration is already well underway. At this moment, Bella and Xi are on their umpteenth trip around the block on scooters, after a few slow trips around so that Echo could run along with them. They’re all still collecting Dandelions, and I can’t wait to see the decorations they come up with. I’m heading back out to the porch to bask in the light of the three most wonderful faces in my life.

Hope you have a fun weekend too!

*

Be well.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the Fun Begin!

  1. Such a beautifully sweet post, Nathan! I especially loved that last photo of the girls w/their dandelions. How wonderful for Bella to feel so much excitement & joy greet her upon her arrival – what better birthday gift could there be? I look forward to the celebration photos! Happy birthday!
    ~ Gina

Thoughts?

