Holiday Fun: Phase 2

The candle-lighting of the menorah during Hanukah is a major (usually the first major) landmark in our Yule celebrations each year. Hanukah is one of those holidays that the dates of observance shift a bit each year — and even though it came and went unusually early this winter, we are already on to the next phase of our holiday fun. Yule Tide Major Landmark Number 2 showed up last night.

There was a minor explosion of cookie-baking that sent red hots, raisins, and powdered sugar icing colliding with gingerbread dough, and showered everything (and I mean everything) in red and green fleck sprinkles, and rainbow dot sprinkles, and laughter.

Today all but a small portion of these beauties were packed up in bags that the girls had already decorated. Each bag was tagged with the name of its intended recipient(s), and added to a huddle of over a dozen similar bags. Xi took considerable care decorating one especially for her mom. Echo decided to make one for her imaginary step-mom, Mama Pom Pom, as well.

I wish I’d thought to make one for my imaginary step cousin… uh… Stieg.

*

Be well. And Bon Hiver!

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday Fun: Phase 2

  1. kloppenmum says:

    Hi Nathan,
    Great to see the girls baking, our boys are manic with ingredients too. Fabulous gift idea. We’re meant to be making crackers in the morning – could be fun!

    • Every time we do a baking project with the girls, I find myself instantly cast back in time to one of the many instances when I got to help my mom or grandma with some baking project. So I windup feeling nostalgic in two directions at once — for my own past on the one hand, and for the memories my family is making together now, as well. Sooo Fun.

      And yes, as a gift idea, there are few things that our neighbors and friends enjoy more than our girls showing up at their front door with homemade holiday treats.

      Have fun with the crackers!

      Be well.

Thoughts?

