So Long ago, Yesterday

This is one of the earlier digital pictures in our family. Before that, I was staunchly anti-digital, so many of the pictures of Izabella’s infancy and early childhood are film prints only. But this one, from right before she turned three, was re-gifted to me by my parents recently (as it was on one of the digital cameras they use) and I am so glad to have it.

We were visiting my parents house (for Izabella’s first time), and when I see this picture I am instantly able to relive the moment. It was only a blink ago. The wind stirred lightly. And because it was winter, it wasn’t too hot in Alabama, so we were just sitting outside relaxing. Bella asked if she could hold me like I was her baby. As you can see, due to our relative proportions, I was an unwieldy baby. But she held me there, and looking at this picture now, I remember the feeling as if it just happened.

And I am reminded by this photo of a line from an old poem (by Robert Herrick): “Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,
Old Time is still a-flying:
And this same flower that smiles to-day
To-morrow will be dying…”

Our precious moments with our little ones do go by so fast. And if and when we are able, we ought to enjoy them to the fullest. May we remember the blessing of these tender instants — while we are still in the moment. Amen.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

