Not Father’s but Papa’s Day

I don’t think I have yet mentioned – we have an ultra-modern family. We share both of my older girls with their (different) moms. Often this means we have alternate holidays, and extra birthdays, and jerry-rigged calendars. This year, it turns out, through some calculus-derived scheduling agreements, that at least one (and maybe two) of the girls won’t be with us on Father’s Day.

Generally speaking, this isn’t a big deal for me. I don’t usually care if my birthday isn’t celebrated on the day itself, or if other special holidays are observed a day or week later than normal. BUT I do like to celebrate.

Also, I truly feel like I get to enjoy being with and sharing love with my daughters every day we are together. And they regularly make things like cards, drawings, and gifts to express their love to me. So I don’t feel like we need a special day for those sorts of things. BUT one thing I really enjoy about a day like Father’s Day is going out to brunch all together.

So since we aren’t all going to be together next Sunday, I asked the family if we could go to brunch together yesterday. I was thinking that would be enough fun for me, and for the kids, to consider it our surrogate Father’s Day. Well, as it turns out, Natalie and the kids took this early Father’s Day brunch idea and RAN with it.

Before brunch I was showered with hugs and kisses and celebratory greetings. I was given three separate hand-crafted cards, with LOTS of flair. Bella’s and Xi’s had a “treasure map” to the “key to my heart” on the back, and “Happy Papa’s Day” written on the front amidst stamps, stickers, pipe cleaners, buttons, gems and bobbits, among other things, and signed with love.  Echo’s had her signature and was sparse, studied, and composed. I was also treated to two performances of the theatrical version of Goldilocks and the Three Bears (written, directed by, and starring the elder sisters – with some help from Grammy and a little friend). I was given full reign to pick the spot where we were to eat – and given full props for picking one of the girls’ favorite restaurants (which I also love). And later, after we ate, and went for a walk all together, we got some ice cream and wandered back home. When we arrived, even our neighbors both greeted me with big grins and a “Happy Father’s Day”.

I thought we were just going to have a fun meal together… Obviously I underestimated the joy my family gets out of celebrating a day like Father’s Day. Sound like I’m bragging? Well maybe I am. And certainly I am thankful.

About Nathan M McTague, CPCC, CPDPE

I am a full-time parent of three, Writer, Life Coach, Lecturer, Parenting Mentor, and Shamanic Practitioner. In all of the above, I am seeking to assist my fellow humans in their processes of claiming and unleashing their highest potentials.
This entry was posted in Beautifulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

